Browne Cements Name In History Books on Last Day of National Championships

by Annemarie Blanco

MIRAMAR, FLORIDA – It was a day of long distances and quick speed at the Ansin Sports Complex to bring the 2022 U.S. Paralympics Track & Field National Championships presented by Toyota to a close. Paralympic silver medalist Richard Browne (Jackson, Mississippi) shattered the world record in the men’s 100m T64 recording a time of 10.53, shaving eight one-hundredths of a second off the previous record. The record stood since Browne took the world time at the 2015 World Para Athletics Championships. The time stands as the fastest 100m ever run by a single or double leg amputee in a Paralympic event.


Triple Paralympic champion Nick Mayhugh (Manassas, Virginia) grabbed a national title in the men’s 100m T38 while Paralympic champion Daniel Romanchuk (Mount Airy, Maryland) continued to dominate the men’s T54 taking two more wins and a near impossible A-standard time in the 5000m competition as he glided through the track solo.


“I’m feeling healthy, happy to meet some people and have fun which is all I can ask for,” said Mayhugh. “Looking forward to next year and the world champs.”


Three-time Paralympian David Brown (St. Louis, Missouri) snagged a 100m national championship along with two-time Paralympian Gianfranco Iannotta (Garfield, New Jersey) continuing to prevail in the men’s T52 division. Catherine Carey (hometown) added two more wins to her collection one day after breaking a world record in the women’s long jump. It was a two-title day for Paralympic champion Brittni Mason (Cleveland, Ohio) who took the top spot in the 100 and 200m sprints.


“It’s the last meet of the season so I was able to get two gold medals,” said Mason. “I’m going to take some down time now, doing some recovery and fitness during the off season and getting ready to amp up for next year.”


More than 70 athletes descended upon the sunshine state for the 2022 National Championships presented by Toyota. The three-day event concluded the season for U.S. Paralympics Track & Field as athletes look ahead to a world championship year in 2023. Full results from the meet are available to view here.


All world and Americas region records subject to World Para Athletics ratification.


June 18 Results:


AM Session -

Men’s 5000m T54

1.     Daniel Romanchuk

2.     Valera Allen

3.     Dustin Stallberg


Women’s 200m T35

1.     Delaney Nolin

2.     Kira Stevens


Women’s 200m T37

1.      Michelle Cross


Men’s 200m T35

1.     Matthew Paintin

2.     Dustin Gunter


Women’s 200m T44

1.     Catherine Carey


Women’s 200m T45

1.     Nelya Schasfoort


Women’s 200m T46

1.     Brittni Mason

2.     Emily Lopez


Men’s 200m T64

1.     Richard Browne

2.     Jonathan Gore

3.     David Prince


Men’s 5000m T13

1.     Noah Scherf


Men’s Javelin F38

1.     Grant Weighall


Men’s Javelin F64

1.     Derik Smith


PM Session -


Women’s 100m T45

1.     Nelya Schasfoort


Women’s 100m T46

1.     Brittni Mason

2.     Emily Lopez


Men’s 100m T46

1.     Andreas Schulz


Men’s 100m T47

1.     Rayven Sample


Women’s 100m T34

1.     Lauren Fields


Women’s 100m T54

1.     Hannah Dedrick

2.     Cheri Madsen

3.     Elizabeth Floch


Men’s 100m T52

1.     Gianfranco Iannotta

2.     Nicholas McCoy


Men’s 100m T53

1.     Robert Hunt


Men’s 100m T54

1.     Daniel Romanchuk

2.     Erik Hightower

3.     Valera Allen


Women’s 100m T44

1.     Catherine Carey


Women’s 100m T63

1.     Scout Bassett

2.     Lindi Marcusen

3.     Noelle Lambert


Men’s 100m T11

1.     David Brown

2.     Antoine Craig


Men’s 100m T35

1.     Matthew Paintin

2.     Dustin Gunter


Men’s 100m T36

1.     Connor Pierce


Men’s 100m T38

1.     Nick Mayhugh

2.     Grant Weighall

3.     Sam Winter


Men’s 100m T62

1.     Regas Woods


Men’s 100m T63

1.     Hunter Woodhall

2.     Patrick Leeper

3.     Lucas Jundt


Men’s 100m T64

1.     Richard Browne – WR

2.     Jonathan Gore

3.     David Prince

For Athletes

  • Rankings
  • Athletes
  • Selection Procedures
United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee
  • Accessibility
  • Contact Us
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds , opens in a new tab

© 2023 Team USA - All Rights Reserved